Previous Honorees

2023 Benefit Luncheon
Elizabeth and Joseph Walder – Walder Foundation
Anthony Moseley and Carla Stillwell – Collaboration Theatre Company
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Jennifer M. Mikulina

2022 Benefit Luncheon
Erin Harkey – Commissioner of DCASE
Homer Hans Bryant – Chicago Multi-Cultural Dance Center
& Hiplet
Eugene Sun Park and Jason Matsumoto – Full Spectrum Features
Erika Ratcliff and Charlique C. Rolle – Congo Square Theatre
Howard and Darlene Sandifer – Chicago West Community Music Center
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Stacy Streur
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Marci Rolnik Walker
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Rose Ann Vargas

2021 Benefit Luncheon
Jimmy Johnson – Chicago Blues Legend
Katie and Tim Tuten – The Hideout
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Kevin J. Conway
Distinguished Service to the Arts Award – Perkins Coie

2020 Benefit Luncheon
Mary Lane – Chicago Blues Legend
James Ginsburg – Cedille Records
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Ruth Kaufman

2019 Benefit Luncheon
Allen Turner – Arts Philanthropist, Advocate, Collector
Madeleine Grynzstejn – Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Robert L. Margolis
Moderator – Chris Jones, Chicago Tribune

2018 Benefit Luncheon
Josephine Lee – Chicago Children’s Choir
Pierre Lockett – Forward Momentum
Joan & Robert A. Clifford
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Carol Anne Been
Moderator – Alison Cuddy, Chicago Humanities Festival

2017 Benefit Luncheon
Renee Fleming – World-Renowned Opera Singer
Anthony Freud – The Lyric Opera of Chicago
Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Michael A. Clark, Sidley Austin LLP
Moderator – Phil Ponce, Chicago Tonight

2016 Benefit Luncheon
Tony Karman – EXPO CHICAGO
D’Arcy Stuart – The Second City
Leavens, Strand & Glover, LLC
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Barry Irwin, Irwin IP LLC
Moderator – Aaron Freeman

2015 Benefit Luncheon
Liz Carroll – International Award-Winning Irish Fiddler and Composer
Mark Howard – Choreographer and Founder – Trinity Irish Dancers
Sidley Austin LLP
Thomas R. Leavens Award – William H. Frankel
Introduction – Orla McBreen, Consul General of Ireland
Moderator – Rick Kogan, WGN

2014 Benefit Luncheon
Derrick Carter – American House Producer and DJ
Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot – Co-Hosts of WBEZ’s Sound Opinions
Holland & Knight LLP
Thomas R. Leavens Award – William E. Rattner

2013 Benefit Luncheon
Michelle T. Boone, Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events
Henry Fogel – Roosevelt University
Joe Segal – Jazz Showcase
The John Marshall Law School
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Andrew L. Goldstein

2012 Benefit Luncheon
Barbara Gaines and Criss Henderson – Chicago Shakespeare Theatre
Bruce Iglauer – Alligator Records
Ann Murray – International Music Foundation
Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Ellen Sandor

2011 Benefit Luncheon
Scott Anderson – Law Bulletin Publishing Company
Tony Fitzpatrick – Artist, Playwright, Actor
David C. Hilliard – Pattishall McAuliffe Newbury Hilliard & Geraldson LLP
Marc Kelly Smith – Founder, International Poetry Slam
Thomas R. Leavens Award – John Iltis

2010 Benefit Luncheon
Fred Anderson – Jazz great
Scott and Judy McCue – Philanthropists
Kit Woods – SAG/AFTRA
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Jerry W. Glover

2009 Benefit Luncheon
Black Harvest International Festival of Film and Video
Richard H. Driehaus – Philanthropist
Joffrey Ballet
Brinks Hofer Gilson & Lione
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Paul H. Singer

2008 Benefit Luncheon
Ella Jenkins – Legendary Educator and Entertainer
Victory Gardens Theater
McDermott Will & Emery LLP
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Peter J. Strand

2007 Benefit Luncheon
Christopher G. Kennedy – Merchandise Mart Properties, Inc.
Chicago Gay Men’s Chorus
Old Town School of Folk Music
Foley & Lardner LLP
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Julieanna L. Richardson

2006 Benefit Luncheon
The People’s Music School
Roche Edward Schulfer, Executive Director and Robert Falls, Artistic Director –
Goodman Theatre
Alene Valkanas – Executive Director, Illinois Arts Alliance
Bell, Boyd & Lloyd LLP
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Scott Hodes

2005 Benefit Luncheon
Jerry Butler – Chicago Music Legend
Brenda Sexton – Managing Director, Illinois Film Office
Writers’ Theatre and Michael Halberstam, Artistic Director
Melvin L. Katten and Allan B. Muchin – Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Konstantinos Armiros

2004 Benefit Luncheon
Mary Dempsey – Commissioner, Chicago Public Library
John Mahoney – Actor, Stage, Film & Television
Ed Paschke – Artist, Educator
Winston & Strawn LLP
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Mary Hutchings Reed

2003 Benefit Luncheon
Tony Jones – President, School of the Art Institute of Chicago,
Co-CEO of the Art Institute
Jeff McClusky – Independent Radio Music Promoter
Jackie Taylor and The Black Ensemble Theater
Marc R. Kadish – Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw LLP
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Linda S. Mensch

2002 Thirty Years Of Service
Roger Ebert – Film Critic, Journalist, Chicago Sun-Times
Ramsey Lewis – Jazz Musician
Steven P. Berkowitz and Marwen Foundation
Joyce Sloane – Founder, Second City
Thomas R. Leavens Award – R. Thomas Howell, Jr.

2001 artlaw @lunch
Lerone Bennett, Jr. – Editor, Ebony Magazine
New Art Examiner
Radio Arte WRTE 90.5 FM
Joe Shanahan – Owner, Cabaret Metro
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Patricia A. Felch

2000 artlaw @lunch
Margaret Taylor Burroughs – Founder, DuSable Museum
of African American History
Henry Godinez – Artistic Director, Goodman Theatre
Richard Gray – President, Art Dealers Association of America
Arlene Rakoncay – Executive Director, Chicago Artists’ Coalition
Thomas R. Leavens Award – William C. Weinsheimer

1999 art+soul
Abena Joan P. Brown – Co-Founder, President & Producer, eta Creative Arts Foundation
John Callaway – Former Senior Correspondent and Host ‘Chicago Tonight’
Joan Harris – President, Harris Foundation
Pepe Vargas – Executive Director, International Latino Cultural Center of Chicago
Thomas R. Leavens Award – James N. Alexander
MC – Robin Robinson, Anchor Fox News Chicago

1998 Our Kind Of Creative Town
Bruce DuMont – Founder and President of the Museum of Broadcast Communications
Ronne Hartfield – Executive Director of Museum Education, The Art Institute of Chicago
Ruth Ratny – Founder, Screen Magazine
Organizations:  Mexican Fine Arts Center Museum and Sara Lee Corporation
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Raymond I. Geraldson, Jr.
MC – Bill Kurtis, Veteran TV Journalist

1997 Silver Anniversary Gala
Hope Abelson – Arts Patron and Philanthropist
Fred Fine – Director of Public Affairs for Columbia College
Scott Hodes – Senior Partner at Ross & Hardies and Co-Founder of LCA
Sidney R. Yates – Illinois Democrat Congressman, 9th District
Thomas R. Leavens Award – Thomas R. Leavens
MC – Joel Daley, Anchor WLS-TV

Sign up for updates from LCA

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Lawyers for the Creative Arts, 161 N Clark St., Suite 4300, Chicago, , IL, 60601, US, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email.Emails are serviced by Constant Contact.